Next Steps

Introduction:

During the last six weeks, I have learned a lot about instructional technology and digital media. As I reflect back on where I started and all that I have read, planned, questioned, discovered and commented on, I feel as though I have started to gain the expertise necessary to support my students as they navigate, and become contributors in, the digital world.  Now, armed  with new knowledge such as the evolved definition of literacy, frameworks like TPACK and  Online Research & Media Skills (ORMS), practical applications like my own blog, Network Learning Project, multimodal tutorial, personal video and membership to platforms like Google+, Wikispaces and Twitter, I feel as though I am ready to change the way I ask students to learn.  I have come to a deeper understanding about how we learn and I have decided that there is a sense of urgency that every educator should feel about equipping their students.

Next Steps:

Image Source

Although the idea of including digital literacy skills into learning experiences is, in no way a new idea, I feel as though one of the next steps is for every teacher to be trained and equipped to lead students. Oftentimes, teachers are “encouraged” to have a digital presence, but what does that really mean? What does it look like in their personal lives?  In their  classrooms? To someone who has never used a personal blog or published their work online, the idea of having a “digital presence” can be very daunting. What I have learned is that becoming an authentic part of this world takes work; it takes support and persistence and most of all–it takes TIME. Teachers need to be able to collaborate with other educators to shared successful tools and strategies. Most importantly, however, teachers must be reflective about their practice and know that if they are not receiving adequate professional development, then they must be proactive in extending their own personal learning networks to include resources that will help them to grow and develop.

Image Source

In addition to professional development, I have thought a lot about infrastructure.  Greenhow et al (2009) discussed the need for accessibility and Leu et al, in “Expanding the New Literacies Conversation,” examined equity.  I believe that we also have to take a step back and look at infrastructure.  Are our buildings equipped for digital learning?  Are networks reliable and secure?  Are students able to connect and access information when they need it?  Can teachers plan lessons where the Internet is the main text and have confidence that they will be able to access their plans when in their classrooms?  Although one might assume that within our world of instant connectivity, the answer to those question must be yes, but in many cases, we are still struggling with having solid infrastructure to support our important work.
As I continue on in this program, I hope to vastly extend my possibilities of technology within my classroom.  As Greenhow et al (2009) articulated, “digital literacy includes knowing how and when to use which technology and knowing which forms and functions are most appropriate for one’s purposes.”  In the same way that I feel intuitive with using pedagogical strategies in my classroom, I would like to get to the point where I can say the same for integrating technology.

One thought on “Next Steps

  1. Reggina, you made a lot of really good points in this post. The infrastructure piece is so important. I also agree with the importance of reflection. One thing I miss about commuting to work is the time I would spend reflecting on the way home each day. I am not sure how I feel about having all teachers develop a digital presence. I think there would have to be a lot of variance in that as sending emails to parents may be a huge advancement for one teacher and yesterday’s news to another. I felt a lot of pressure having to develop a digital presence so rapidly. I think if we want all teachers to do this there needs to be a more realistic time frame given the fact that many teachers will be resistant to the idea and need coaxing and assistance. Throughout this course I have wondered how student’s parents will react to so much online activity. I know most children today have a sonogram up on Facebook before birth, but there are some “old school” thinkers like me who may not want their child to be required to blog online for school purposes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

