ORMS MOOC Module 1: Reflection on 1st Multimodal Tutorial

For my first multimodal tutorial, I demonstrated, for my students, how to create an account for Turnitin.com and submit an assignment.  Although I have not actually used it yet, I plan on doing so within the next couple of weeks. As far as using multimodal tutorials in the classroom goes, I feel as though they can play a role in some of the procedural work that we do.  For example, I teach students how to craft an assertion statement using various levels (Lynn Erickson’s Concept-based Teaching and Learning).  Since this method is new to many freshmen students, they would benefit from being able to review it at home, and a multimodal tutorial would help in those cases.  I do not foresee myself using screencasts to assess my students’ work because I believe that it would be too time-consuming and I am not sure that the benefits would justify the time that it would take.

When re-examining and reflecting on my multimodal tutorial, I realize that, although I accomplished the task of giving students information about sign-up and submission to Turnitin.com, there is certainly room for improvement in my construction and creation of these tutorials

What worked:

  1. The actual screencast video portion of my tutorial was 4 minutes and 58 seconds, under the 5 minute mark suggested by Ian O’Byrne in Teaching Online and the Time of Screencasts, so I did well there.  
  2. I did create a new account for the purpose of my tutorial, as suggested by Dan Nunez in Dan Nunez’s Screencasts Commandments.

Things to Consider for Future Multimodal Tutorials:

  1. Since I might have included too many screenshots (I had 12 altogether), a better strategy might have been to break up the tutorial into two separate ones so that one focused on creating a new account and the other on submitting an assignment.  For my next tutorial, I will pay attention to the amount of information needed and make a decision about whether or not I should separate the content.
  2. Since some screenshots were small, it might be difficult for student to see everything, therefore,  will pay attention to the size of the images used in the tutorial and enlarge any portions that might be difficult to read.
  3. For the video part of my tutorial, I simply included the following at the bottom of the page:  Click on this Video Tutorial to view the entire process of creating a new account and uploading a file.  For future tutorials, I will work on embedding the video screen instead of just including the link.  I will also consider whether it should be at the top of the page or bottom of the actual tutorial.
Leave a Reply

